Posted by: eunice | April 25, 2010

Istanbul – Europe’s Hidden Gem

I have not known Istanbul that much but I know that this is place where you can get a very nice kebab 🙂

I was looking for a place to visit this Easter as easter holiday in Denmark is longer compared to other countries.  I was then invited by a new found friend whom I have a common friend with to join them so I did not hesitate.  It was a good decision, Istanbul is one of the interesting places I have visited.  I have visited a lot of Christian countries in Europe and temples when I was in Asia.  This is the first time I have visited a place where there’s a lot of nice mosques.  I was sooo impressed with the nice architecture style.  And do you know that this is the only country where it is located in 2 continents – Asia and Europe? Well, at least this is the first country I know.

Weekend is not enough to explore this very nice city.  It was a good timing that it was scheduled during the easter break where we have a 5-day easter break in Denmark.  I have taken a lot of pictures to capture this captivating city but I dont have that much space and patience so I just picked my favorites 🙂

The Basilica Cistern, Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque

spice bazaar

...

Sufi and Belly Dancing

Turkish Bath and along Bosphorus (overlooking the Galata tower)

with friends from Denmark

Istanbul, Turkey, April 1-5, 2010

Leave a Reply

Categories

