Posted by: eunice | February 6, 2007

Revisiting the Middle Earth

… this is what New Zealand is called these days… named after the famous movie Lord of the Rings where the movie was shot.

It was so nice to be back in New Zealand. This time – I was able to visit the South Island.  One week is still not enough to see most of the South Island.  I was able to go to Queenstown, Milford Sound and Christchurch.   This means, I still have a reason to go back 🙂

Queenstown is very georgeous.  It is very very scenic and there are so many things to do.   I was able to go to Glenorchy, Arrowtown and I was able to paraglide in Coronet peak.  I was tempted to do the SkyJump (from the plane)… but maybe next time.

qt_queenstown7.JPG

Queenstown harbour – overlooking The Remarkables

 qt_queenstown9.JPG

qt_queenstown1.JPG

qt_wakatipu2.JPG

Lake Wakatipu – my view across the place I stayed

qt_glenorchy4.JPG

Glenorchy – one of the Lord of the Rings location

qt_glenorchy7.JPG

qt_glenorchy1.JPG

doing the Frodo pose in Twelve Mile Delta camp

 qt_dartriver4.JPG

Dart River – Lord of the rings location

qt_queenstown10.JPG

view overlooking the Coronet peak – before my paraglide

qt_paraglide3.jpg

Tandem paraglide from Coronet peak (3800ft)

One of the recommended places to go to in the South Island is either the Milford Sound or the Doubtful sound.  I was confused which one to go – I decided to go to both places then.  The journey on the way to these places is also an adventure.  There are so many falls (both permanent and temporary – we were lucky that day because it was raining so theres a lot of temporary falls).

 doubtfulsound1.JPG

on the way to Doubtful Sound

doubtfulsound2.JPG

Doubtful Sound

doubtfulsound4.JPG

milford_mirrorlake1.JPG

Mirror Lake – on the way to Milford Sound

milfordsound3.JPG

Mountain with snow peaks

milfordsound4.JPG

one of the falls along Milford Sound

milfordsound5.JPG

cute seals enjoying the sun

milfordsound7.JPG

Milford Sound

Christchurch – garden city of New Zealand.  My intention to go to this place is just to relax and walk around.  I had enough of views in Queenstown.   However, I did the 2 recommended things to do – the tram and the gondola.  I was actually dissapointed with the tram because its not really that special – at least for me since I have been to some places in Europe.  The gondola ride is fantastic though.  The view above is awesome.  It is overlooking the Lyttelton Harbour.  I feel like I am looking at a painting.  It is very nice.

 christchurch6.JPG

Lyttelton harbour

christchurch7.JPG

christchurch9.JPG

christchurch8.JPG

christchurch10.JPG

christchurch1.JPG

Avon River

Well – I hope to back sometime.  Even though the flight time from Europe to NZ is around 30hours, its worth it.

Queenstown, TeAnau, Christchurch – New Zealand (Jan28-Feb4, 2007)

Leave a Reply

Categories

