Posted by: eunice | April 23, 2006

Backpacking in Italy – part 2

Rome, Florence and Pisa, Italy – April 14 – 19, 2006

Spending the easter in Italy is both nice and a not-so nice experience.  It is the busiest season in Rome.  Well, what do you expect – its the center of the Catholic belief.  I visited the St. Peters Basilica – it took me 2 hours to go inside the church.  I was not able to visit the Sistine chapel though.. it will be another 4 hours of waiting – so as always – I will do it when I go back.  Also, I just finished reading Dan Brown’s novel “Angels and Demons” where the setting is actually in Rome.. . so for those who have read the novel – the pictures will be familiar to you…

After few days in Rome, I jumped in the train on my way to Florence.. its a nice little city – not as busy as Rome though. I was able to visit “Galleria Academia” where the famous David is located.  I also visited the very nice Fiesole City.

On my way back to Switzerland, I took the plane from Pisa.  I had a 2 hour wait so I went for a walk to visit the famous Leaning Tower.  Its awesome!! – a nice piece of work.

ROME

rome_stpetersbasilica1.jpg

St. Peter’s Basilica – easter week

rome_stpeters56.jpg

in line for 2 hours! but its worth it.. just need to be back during ordinary days

rome_stpeters29pieta.jpg

the famous Pietta

 rome_stpeters08.jpg

in front of the fountain (threw a coin and had my wish!)

 rome_colesseum10.jpg

The Colosseum

rome_pantheon02.jpg

The Pantheon

rome_fontanaditrevi2.jpg

Fontana de Trevi – threw a coin to guarantee to come back

rome_pdspagna-staircasetrinitademonte2.jpg

Spanish Steps

 rome_piazzavenezia.jpg

Piazza de Venezia

rome_piazzadelpopolo6.jpg

Piazza del Poppolo

rome_piazzanavona5.jpg

Piazza Navona

rome_piazzanavona3.jpg

Piazza Navona – where the artists are!

 rome_piazzarepublica2.jpg

Piazza del Republica

rome_castelsangelo1.jpg

Castel San Angelo

FLORENCE

florence_galeriaacademia1.jpg

Galleria Academia – David by Michaelangelo (camera is not allowed but its my only chance to capture the real David so I took my camera remove the flash and there you go! they will not put me into prison for that)

florence_galeriaacademia2.jpg

David by Michaelangelo

florence_piazzaduomo01_stamadeifiore.jpg

Piazza Duomo – Basilica

 florence_piazzaduomo09_doorofparadise.jpg

Door of Paradise

 florence_piazzedlsignoria08_loggiadlsignoria.jpg

Piazza del Signorina

florence_palazzopitti01.jpg

Palazzo Pitti

florencefiesole03.jpg

Fiesole City – awesome!

florence_fiesole04.jpg

Fiesole City – nice view!

PISA

pisa_tower3.jpg

Leaning Tower of Pisa

pisa_tower1.jpg

its really leaning!!!

pisa_tower4.jpg

The Tower beside the Duomo church

Leave a Reply

Categories

